Mercer wordmark
NCAA Announces Athletics Certification Decisions
May 24, 2004

(800) 837-2911
(478) 301-5500

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification announced decisions today concerning the certification status of 10 Division I member institutions that have undergone the Association’s second cycle of athletics certification.


The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution’s athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.


The certification process, which is a self-study led by an institution’s chief executive officer, includes a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; fiscal integrity; equity; welfare; and sportsmanship.


 A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.


 The following universities were certified:


  • Belmont University
  • Coastal Carolina University
  • Kansas State University
  • Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus
  • Manhattan College
  • Mercer University
  • Niagara University
  • University of Notre Dame
  • San Jose State University
  • University of South Carolina, Columbia


 In addition, four Division I institutions have been certified with conditions:


  • University of Buffalo
  • Chicago State University
  • University of North Carolina, Greensboro
  • Rider University

 This classification means that the institution is considered to be operating its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the NCAA’s Division I membership. However, problems identified during the course of the institution’s self-study and the peer-review team’s evaluation were considered serious enough by the Committee on Athletics Certification to cause it to withhold full certification until those problems have been corrected.


The second round of athletics certifications is being completed on a 10-year cycle rather than the five-year cycle used during the initial certification process.  All 325 active Division I members participate in the certification process.


The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution’s certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation.  The university then has a period of approximately one year to respond in writing to the issues before a final certification decision is rendered.  An institution’s failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.


The certification process is separate from the NCAA’s enforcement program, which investigates allegations of rules violations by NCAA member institutions.  A decision of certified does not exempt an institution from concurrent or subsequent enforcement proceedings.


The NCAA Committee on Infractions may ask the Committee on Athletics Certification to review an institution’s certification status as a result of the completed infractions case.


The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: Rich Ensor, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; John Hardt, Bucknell University; Susan Hofacre, Robert Morris University; Pat Howey, University of North Carolina, Wilmington; Jerry Kingston, Arizona State University; Leo Lambert, Elon University; Colleen Lim, Yale University; Jamie McCloskey, University of Florida; Fred Mims, University of Iowa; Race Pugmire, Utah State University; Kim Record, Florida State University; Paul Risser (chair), Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dawn Rogers, Xavier University; Mary Ann Rohleder, Associate Director of Athletics, Indiana University, Bloomington; and Greg Sankey, Southeastern Conference.