Mercer wordmark
Mercer President Elected Vice Chair and Finance Chair of A-Sun Presidents Council
August 8, 2008

Eric Moyer
Director of Communications
Atlantic Sun Conference
(478) 474-3384

Richard L. Cameron
Senior Assistant Vice President for Marketing Communications
Mercer University
(478) 301-5500

MACON, Ga. - The Atlantic Sun Conference announced the election of its officers for the 2008-09 academic year. Lipscomb President, Dr. Randy Lowry, succeeds Dr. Kerry Romesburg (Jacksonville) as the Conference President and Chair of the Presidents Council. Mercer University President Bill Underwood will serve as Vice Chair of t,he Presidents Council and Chair of the Finance Committee.

As A-Sun President, Lowry will preside over Presidents Council meetings, Management Committee meetings, and the Executive Committee. Joining Lowry as officers on the Executive Committee are Stetson's Athletic Director, Jeff Altier, returning for his second year as Vice President. Also serving a second consecutive year is Belmont's Associate Athletics Director Betty Wiseman as A-Sun Secretary. Dr. Jeff Hugdahl, Mercer's Faculty Athletic Representative will serve as the FAR delegate on the Executive Committee, and Alan Verlander, Jacksonville's Athletic Director will serve as the at-large representative.

The A-Sun Management Committee includes the athletics directors, senior woman administrators and the faculty athletic representatives from each of the 11 member institutions. The Management Committee, along with all standing committees, conducts in-person meetings twice each academic year (October and June). The Presidents Council meets twice a year as well, after the Management Committee.

The conference also announced that the Presidents Council approved an extension for Commissioner Ted Gumbart, extending his contract through 2010. Gumbart succeeded Bill Bibb in January of 2007 to become the fourth full-time commissioner of the Atlantic Sun Conference.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most dynamic and prestigious private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University, East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.