Mercer wordmark
Mercer President Underwood Elected 2009-2010 President of Atlantic Sun Conference
Aug. 4, 2009

Eric Moyer
(478) 474-3394
Richard L. Cameron
(478) 301-5500

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference announced the election of its officers for the 2009-10
academic year. Mercer President William D. Underwood succeeds Dr. Randy Lowry (Lipscomb) as the conference president and chair of the Presidents Council. UNF President John Delaney will serve as
vice chair of the Presidents Council and chair of the Finance Committee.

As A-Sun president, Underwood will preside over Presidents Council meetings, Management
Committee meetings and the Executive Committee. Those joining Underwood as officers on the
Executive Committee include Jacksonville Athletic Director Alan Verlander as the vice president.
ETSU Senior Associate Athletic Director Barbie Breedlove takes over as A-Sun secretary. Dr. Rich
Tiner, Belmont’s faculty athletic representative, will serve as the FAR delegate and Dave Waples,
Kennesaw’s athletic director will serve as the AD delegate.

The A-Sun Management Committee includes the athletics directors, senior woman administrators and the faculty athletic representatives from each of the 11 member institutions. The Management Committee, along with all standing committees, conducts in-person meetings twice each academic year (October and June).

The Presidents Council meets twice a year as well, after the Management Committee.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an 11-member league committed to Building Winners for Life. The
A-Sun stands for achievement with integrity in both the academic and athletic arenas, with a focus on
the balance between the two for our student-athletes. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts
five of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most dynamic
and prestigious private and public institutions in the region: Belmont University, Campbell University,
East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw
State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, University of
South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.